A popular landmark of the history of Pondicherry, Raj Niwas was formerly known as Le Palais gu Gouvemeur. Founded by Dumas as the Governor’s palace in 1735, it was completed and unveiled by Dupleix. Built on the ruins of a French hotel – Hotel de la Compagnie, the building had been trampled several times.
The grand monument we see today as Raj Nivas was built when the new town was reconstructed in only three days. Although the building is not open for public access, its grandeur regularly attracts tourists.
The rectangular single-storied building is an Indo-French architectural marvel set amidst lush gardens. Its appearance is a fine blend of traditional and contemporary. Being the residence of Lieutenant Governor of Pondicherry, Raj Niwas provides accommodation for the state guests and personal guests of the Governor.